The latest happenings at the Chamber and the broader business community.

Chamber CEO appointed to Mayor Adams' and Governor Hochul's "New" New York Blue-ribbon Panel

Monday, June 13, 2022

New York City Mayor Eric Adams and New York Governor Kathy Hochul today appointed 54 leaders from across New York City’s business, labor, academic, nonprofit, and philanthropic sectors to join the “New” New York blue-ribbon panel, which will examine the future of New York City and the region’s economy. Announced in May and co-chaired by Robin Hood CEO Richard Buery and former Sidewalk Labs CEO Daniel Doctoroff, the 56-member panel will develop actionable strategies for the recovery and resilience of the city’s commercial districts, challenges stemming from the COVID-19 pandemic, and longstanding and systemic challenges facing New York City and the region.

Manhattan Chamber of Commerce CEO Jessica Walker was among the appointees.

“We can only create the prosperous, inclusive New York City we need by bringing everyone to the table, and that’s what we are doing,” said Mayor Adams. “This group of leaders from across the city, the state, and the region will recommend steps we can take immediately to strengthen our city’s economic engines, while putting forward the big ideas we must consider to build a post-pandemic city that works for all New Yorkers and all who come here. I look forward to working with Governor Hochul and the members of the ‘New’ New York panel to deliver on that vision.”

“This panel represents a diverse cross-section of New Yorkers with a track record of thinking big to develop innovative policies to drive growth in all five boroughs and beyond,” said Governor Hochul. “New York has demonstrated incredible resiliency over the last few years, and we owe it to New Yorkers to rebuild and revitalize our economy and ensure everyone has an opportunity to succeed. I have the utmost faith in the ‘New’ New York panel to deliver a bold, actionable, and equitable plan to move our city, region, and state forward.”

The panel will examine issues such as how and where people work and the use of space in key commercial centers, with the goal of minimizing vacancy, catalyzing vibrancy, and bolstering the tax base. The recommendations will support an inclusive economic recovery for New York City and the region with increased opportunities for New Yorkers to thrive in family-sustaining jobs. The panel will recommend specific, immediate initiatives that will serve as the basis of a shared city-state agenda, as well as long-term, transformative ideas for the city and state to consider.

Panelists will work closely with city and state economic development leaders, including New York City Deputy Mayor for Economic and Workforce Development Maria Torres-Springer, New York City Economic Development Corporation President and CEO Andrew Kimball, New York State Deputy Secretary for Economic Development and Workforce James Katz, and Empire State Development President and CEO Hope Knight.

The panel will begin meeting in June 2022 and provide recommendations by the end of 2022.

Co-chaired by Buery and Doctoroff, the “New” New York Panel includes the following members:

  • Richard Buery, Jr. (co-chair), CEO, Robin Hood
  • Daniel L. Doctoroff (co-chair), former CEO, Sidewalk Labs
  • Priscilla Almodovar, president and CEO, Enterprise Community Partners
  • Khin Mai Aung, executive director, New York, Generation Citizen
  • Murad Awawdeh, executive director, New York Immigration Coalition
  • Donnell Baird, founder, BlocPower
  • Sian Beilock, president, Barnard College at Columbia University
  • Kyle Bragg, president, 32BJ
  • Hon. Sharon Bowen, chair, New York Stock Exchange
  • Victor Calise, director of global culture, equity, and inclusion, centers of excellence, Walmart
  • Rafael E. Cestero, CEO, Community Preservation Corporation
  • Alfred C. Cerullo, III, president and CEO, Grand Central Partnership
  • Vishaan Chakrabarti, founder and creative director, Practice for Architecture and Urbanism
  • Dr. Daisy Cocco De Filippis, president, Hostos Community College
  • Matt Cohen, president and CEO, Long Island Association
  • John R. Durso, president, Local 338 RWDSU/UFCW; and president, Long Island Federation of Labor
  • Cara Eckholm, head of growth, Nabr
  • Wallace Ford II, associate professor, Medgar Evers College of The City University of New York
  • William S. Floyd, senior director, U.S. state and local government affairs and public policy, Google
  • Dr. Marsha Gordon, president and CEO, Business Council of Westchester
  • Sharon Greenberger, president and CEO, YMCA of Greater New York
  • Danny Harris, executive director, Transportation Alternatives
  • Wayne Ho, president and CEO, Chinese-American Planning Council
  • Marc Holliday, chairman and CEO, SL Green Realty Corp
  • Angie Kamath, dean, New York University (NYU) School of Professional Studies
  • Jessica Lappin, president, Alliance for Downtown New York
  • Richard Maroko, president, Hotel and Gaming Trades Council, AFL-CIO
  • Raymond J. McGuire, former vice chairman, Citigroup
  • Melva M. Miller, CEO, Association for a Better New York
  • Mitchell L. Moss, professor of urban policy and planning, NYU Wagner School
  • Regina Myer, president, Downtown Brooklyn Partnership
  • Ana Oliveira, president and CEO, New York Women’s Foundation
  • Dr. Philip Ozuah, president and CEO, Montefiore Medicine
  • Charles Phillips, managing director and co-founder, Recognize
  • Dr. Jocelynne Rainey, president and CEO, Brooklyn Community Foundation
  • Taryn Sacramone, executive director, Queens Theatre
  • Janette Sadik-Khan, principal, Bloomberg Associates
  • Al Samuels, president and CEO, Rockland Business Association
  • Julie Samuels, founder, Tech:NYC; and partner, Hangar
  • Stephen Scherr, CEO, Hertz Corporation
  • Amy Schulman, managing partner, Polaris Partners
  • David Solomon, chairman and CEO, Goldman Sachs
  • Rob Speyer, CEO, Tishman Speyer
  • Jose Tavarez, president, Bank of America New York City; and vice chair, Bank of America Private Bank
  • William Thompson, Jr., board chairperson, City University of New York; and partner and chief administrative officer, Siebert Williams Shank
  • Mary Ann Tighe, CEO, New York tri-state region, CBRE
  • Dr. Merryl H. Tisch, chair, State University of New York
  • Jessica Walker, president and CEO, Manhattan Chamber of Commerce
  • Carl Weisbrod, senior advisor, HR&A
  • James Whelan, president, Real Estate Board of New York
  • Fred Wilson, partner, Union Square Ventures
  • Tom Wright, president and CEO, Regional Plan Association
  • Clara Wu Tsai, founder, Clara and Joe Tsai Foundation; and governor, New York Liberty
  • Kathryn Wylde, president and CEO, Partnership for New York City
  • Dr. George D. Yancopoulos, co-founder and chief scientific officer, Regeneron Pharmaceuticals
  • Lourdes Zapata, president and CEO, South Bronx Overall Economic Development Corporation

Mayor Adams and Governor Hochul also named Julie Stein as executive director of the “New” New York panel. Stein is an MIT-trained urban planner who has worked at the New York City Economic Development Corporation for nearly 12 years in roles focusing on neighborhood development, asset management, and stakeholder engagement.